Eader House, known as the Eader-Walker-Skinner House in the College Hill Historic District of Brownsville, Tennessee, was built by Jonathan Eader around 1865. Originally from Frederick, Maryland (born in 1829), Mr. Eader moved to the South around 1859. Mr. Eader was a member of the 7th Regiment of Duckworth's Cavalry (Tennessee) in the Confederate Army. His younger brother, Charles, was killed in the Battle of Gettysburg in July of 1863 while fighting for the Union. After settling in Brownsville, Mr. Eader became very involved in the community. He was one of the early businessmen of Brownsville, owning a sash and door factory, a cotton gin, and a grist mill. He was also one of the founders of the Wesleyan Female College (1870). Mr. Eader and his wife, Catharine Paulina, lived in Brownsville until their deaths and were laid to rest in the Oakwood Cemetery, just a few blocks from their home. Their son Lewis Eader and his family relocated to California shortly after the death of Catharine.
The Greek Revival two story frame house boasts original walnut double doors, intricate woodwork, and a beautiful winding staircase. Original moldings and hardwood floors are still present in portions of the home. The grand pediment, supported by tall, octagonal columns, features a semi-circular opening and detailed woodwork. A hand-scrolled sawtooth railing encloses the full-length balcony. Visit our gallery for views of the home and property.